Midtown Global Marketplace

Alas, I have not traveled anywhere since November, and I do not have any travel plans for the foreseeable future.  This makes me restless.  I have decided I will have to focus on “travelling” in my local community; I will visit and highlight places, events, etc that have a multicultural/international theme.

Last night I visited the Midtown Global Marketplace in Minneapolis with some friends.  I love this place! It is an indoor shopping center devoted to the businesses of local merchants from around the world.  For more information, click here.

After having margaritas at a Mexican restaurant and buying spices at the Holy Land, a Middle Eastern shop, my friends and I had an amazing dinner at the Rabbit Hole, a Korean restaurant.  The last time I was at this place, I had a camel burger at a Somali restaurant.  All of this was under one roof, so we did not have to brave the arctic winds.

Did I mention that I love this place?!  Below are a few snapshots I took while walking around the marketplace. Minnesotans:  I definitely recommend checking this place out if you have not already been there.

4 thoughts on “Midtown Global Marketplace

  1. I love being a “tourist in my own town”. It’s always possible to hunt out something that you wouldn’t usually do or see. Travelling doesn’t have to mean going away…Love your pix.

  2. Just like that you are able to find culture in your own backyard. I will have to remember the name of this market if I am ever in Minneapolis. Looks like a cool place.

Leave a Reply

