After the Integratron

integratron

Google Street View of Landers, California.

 

I met this guy named Tassel back in 1960 at a party.  I was young back then.  Trying to make it in Hollywood.   Tassel yammered on about geomagnetic this and ferromagnetic that.  I had no idea what he meant, but he was cute.

So I got in the car with him. We drove to the Mohave.  We climbed inside this building he called an “Integratron.”  He sat me down on this contraption and strapped me in.  I saw myself reflected in the opposite mirror. Kinky, I thought.   But all he did was press a few buttons and we were done. He drove me home. That was that.

As the years passed, my friends all changed: gray hair, flab, wrinkles.   But I remained the same.  I am 80.  But when I look in the mirror, I see the same reflection I saw in the Integratron in 1960.  I do not age.

******************

This is the January 14 edition of  What Pegman Saw,  a flash fiction challenge based on a scene from Google Earth.  The story is limited to 150 words.

To enjoy stories inspired by the What Pegman Saw prompt or to submit your own 150-word story, visit the inLinkz button:

get the InLinkz code

 

 

13 thoughts on “After the Integratron

  1. If it really worked that way, the current owners would make a fortune.

    I once read a science fiction novel by Ben Bova that suggested the government would suppress immortality because if we all lived infinitely long (or just a really long time), not only would Social Security go bankrupt, but overpopulation would exceed the environment’s ability to support us all.

    That said, the story also suggested the “cure” would be reserved for the favored (rich) few.

Leave a Reply

