1100 Mile Challenge Report

Dear readers:  A year ago, I was inspired by Cheryl Strayed’s long hike and pledged to bike 1000 miles and hike 100 miles in 2015.

I succeeded in biking 1000 miles without too much difficulty, mostly on local (Minnesota) country roads and bike paths.  It was a fun experience for the most part.  (It helped that we had a really nice summer–not too hot or humid for once.)

I ditched the hiking challenge, though.  (After getting physical therapy for my knee, my PT wanted me to do some jogging just to see if I could.  My knee was fine, so I decided to focus on combining walking/jogging rather than hiking.)

Here are a few snapshots from some of my rides.

Do you have any challenges for 2016?

4 thoughts on “1100 Mile Challenge Report

  1. Debra, congratulations on your accomplishment. I love the pictures, but my favorite is the one with your broad smile. Well done. Have a healthy and happy 2016, but you are well on your way. Keith

  2. You will laugh at me but you can find my books on smashwords under my name be sure to take the adult filter off! My thing is “serious themes in a frivolous genre”. The new one is about a movement that believes the human race has not long to go, known as “near term extinction”. These people really exist as you will discover if you google the term. The book is called The Living End. If I’m lucky I’ll get it done this coming year.

    When you are ready for your euro-jaunt drop me a line and I’ll tell you what I know, which is a little.

    Take care

  3. Hello Debra – congratulations on doing that. It’s great. cycling is sooooo excellent. . .sadly can’t remember if I am boring you with this a second time, but I too managed my bike challenge and cycled from Prague to Berlin and then to Amsterdam on the fantastic R1 cycle trail. This goes from Calais in France to St Petersburg in Russia but I basically just did the German section which is wonderful. All up this is about 2000 km or 1200 of your miles. For 2016 I would very much like to do this again, only from the western end. However I think my task for this coming year is to write a book. Which I am.

    Go well you.

Leave a Reply

