My 1100 Mile Cheryl Strayed-Inspired Pledge

My Bike

Back in early January, I wrote a post in which, inspired by Cheryl Strayed, I pledged to bike 1000 miles this year and hike 100 miles.

I live in Minnesota, so the weather does not allow me to do a whole lot of hiking and biking until spring.  Well, spring is officially here, so it is time to get serious about my pledge.  I have done a little bit of “warm-up” hiking and biking in March-April (11 miles of hiking and 115 miles of biking).

But now, I need to step up the pace.  I am using my blog as a way to keep myself accountable.

My goal for May is to bike a minimum of 200 miles and hike a minimum of 20 miles.  I will post periodic updates.  If anyone wants to join me in the challenge, let me know!

10 thoughts on “My 1100 Mile Cheryl Strayed-Inspired Pledge

  1. I love the idea, although your numbers seem scary high. I’d like to see how close I could get to 100 Miles of hiking. Just bought new hiking shoes!!!

  2. Good luck with your goals! I’ve been thinking about getting a bike recently, as walking/hiking – which I do a lot – can sometimes get boring and time consuming… 🙂 happy trails!

  3. Hi there Debra…well, my plan is to cycle over the summer from Prague to Berlin, do some good kms in Sweden, then cycle down through Denmark to western Germany and the Netherlands…mostly camping with tent sleeping bag etc. It’s no’ bad as Scots say. Starting late May is the plan…still have to organise this as some things in NZ are holding me. If nec will do next year but don’t want to do that.

    Hope you keep up with yours…you are being very conservative and that’s good. Once you get fit for it, you won’t have any trouble at all making your distances. Cycling without gear, just you and a water bottle,150 kms a day is ok and more is doable. With gear as I do it 100 a day is ok and more is doable…so there you go. Keep going…it is fun.

      • Hello Debra – it is certainly meant to be a great trip! I do have a blog but it is about writing and associated arts like film, drama etc and while I am almost certain to write about this trip it will likely be as asides rather than “all about my summer vacation…” especially as it is not a vacation but life as it is lived by this alleged human being*. and my life is trivial compared to what is on offer…Elsinore! hang around till the wind is nnw and see if I can tell a hawk from a handsaw! Ystad! How is it compared to the Wallander TV series? Having a laugh as Swedenborg’s home if it still exists! Can Stockholm give you Stockholm Syndrome? I have a bike that’s got it… Hannover and Kurt Schwitters…Berlin Berlin Berlin…Prague and all the beautiful people and buildings…Vaclav Havel…did I mention Berlin? and so on. Utlimately this is all meant to go into the thoughts, hearts and experiences of non-humans who exist only in fiction.

        *am sticking to this rumour until exposed.

Leave a Reply

