By the Flamingos

Kowloon Park, Hong Kong

Kowloon Park, Hong Kong

I remember the day I waited for you by the flamingos.  We were supposed to meet in the “Pleasure Grounds” of Kowloon Park.  It was hot that day and humid.  I was so happy that day, I could barely breathe.  I could not wait to see you.  The pastel pink of the flamingos was but a pale reflection of the fuchsia toned ixora coccinea.  The Hong Kong skyline peaked out from behind the trees, as if spying on the lovers strolling around the shaded pond.  I waited for you for hours, staring at the flamingos who stood on one leg.

******
This post was my response to this week’s 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups hosted by Julia at Julia’s Place.  

The prompt was “remember.”  Check out Julia’s blog for more information on the 100 Word Challenge!

100 Word Challenge for GRownups

100 Word Challenge for GRownups

 

2 thoughts on “By the Flamingos

Leave a Reply

