Very Inspiring Blogger Award

I have been nominated for ‘the Very inspiring blogger award by Travelogues of an African Girl (http://africanahgirl.com/2014/09/13/very-inspiring-blogger-award/.  Thank you, “African Girl” for nominating me!  I am very grateful!

 Very inspiring blogger award

The rules of this award are the following :

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award on your post.
  3. List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.
  4. State 7 things about yourself.
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.
  6. Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.
  7. Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) on your blog.

Here are seven things about me.

  1. My first real international travel was my junior-year-abroad experience in Aix-en-Provence, France. I spent an entire year there and took classes at the university with other French students.  This year profoundly changed my outlook on the world in ways that are hard to articulate.
  2. I have dabbled in several foreign languages, but the only one I speak (or spoke) fluently (besides English) is French. I am not happy about this.  Before I die, I would like to become fluent (or almost fluent) in another language.
  3. In pursuit of the goal I mentioned above, I started studying Arabic a couple of years ago. I can’t say I have come very far.  I tend to start, stop, start again (which means reviewing what forgot) and so forth. BTW, It is freaking HARD to learn this language!
  4. For sheer gorgeousness (of landscape, people, art, food, everything), I think Italy is my favorite country, although France is a close second.
  1. The biggest disconnect for me between travel expectations and travel reality has been in Arab countries. I first fell under their spell in Egypt.  Then I spent six week in the small Persian Gulf countries of UAE, Qatar and Kuwait.  Finally, I spent another six weeks in the West Bank of Israel.  In every case, I was overcome by the warmth and hospitality of the Arab people.

6.   I never seem to tire of reading, travel, or learning about other countries. I could work full-time on this blog for years to come and never run out of books to write about or places I want to learn about.

 7.  My cats’ names are Tennessee, Zelda, and Muffin.

I nominate the following bloggers for educating me, entertaining me, inspiring me and making me think.

 

Kinna Reads (kinnareads.com)

Attenti al Lupo (attentiallupo2012.com)

From Ethiopia with Love (fromethiopiawithlove.com)

Of Means and Ends (ofmeansandends.com)

Musings of an Old Fart (musingsofanoldfart.wordpress.com)

In Saner Thoughts (lobotero.com)

The Classics Club (classicsclubblog.wordpress.com)

Nomad, Interrupted (catbirdinameria.wordpress.com)

Lotenna Blog (lotenna.wordpress.com)

Tales Along the Way (talesalongtheway.com)

E-tinkerbell (etinkerbell.wordpress.com)

Transitionally Speaking (Transitlens.wordpress.com

Saudiwoman’s Weblog  (http://saudiwoman.me/)

Sachemspeaks  (sachemspeaks.wordpress.com)

Confessions of a Readaholic (amandeepmittal.wordpress.com)

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award Nomination | Transitionally Speaking

Leave a Reply

