Great Unsolved Mystery: Bear Claw?

What the what?

What the what?

I’m hoping some of you can help me out here.  I saw this thing on the streets of Beijing, lying on top of a table full of inexpensive jewelry and other trinkets.  The vendors did not speak English and I do not speak Chinese, so I could not ask them to explain why anyone would buy what looks like a bear claw.  (I’m not even sure that’s what it is.)

Do any of you know what this is and why someone would buy it?  I’m hoping to be enlightened!

3 thoughts on “Great Unsolved Mystery: Bear Claw?

    • According to some online sources, bear claws are used for jewelry. Bear paws are apparently used for food. I’d be interesting in hearing other perspectives!

Leave a Reply

