WWW Wednesdays, May 14

The blog “Should Be Reading” started a series called http://www.Wednesdays.

Image

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next

Here are my answers for May 14, 2014.

What are you currently reading?

Her by Christa Parravini. (I haven’t actually started it yet, but I plan to do so tonight.) It’s a memoir of a woman whose identical twin died of an overdose in her 20s.

What did you recently finish reading?

Defending Jacob by William Landay. This is a terrific crime thriller. I read it in a day because it was such a page turner. The law/crime aspects were well-done, but I was particularly enthralled by his depiction of a family unravelling after their son is accused of murder.

What do you think you’ll read next?

How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity and the Hidden Power of Character by Paul Tough. I heard an interview with him on NPR. He tries to answer the question of why some children succeed while others fail. He believes much of it has to do with character rather than with IQ or other cognitive traits.

What about you?  What have you read recently?

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays, May 14

  1. Reading David Baldecci The Target. Another CIA thriller with two his “killer rock stars”– Robie and Reel.

    On the work shelf, just finished The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor. If you haven’t read it, do. It is a self/Org help book presenting the positive evidence that positivity is productive. He is speaking at one of our conferences in October!

    Defending Jacob is on the list….do you recommend it?

  2. Currently reading: “The Gargoyle” by Andrew Davidson
    Recently finished: “Defending Jacob” by William Landay
    Next: “Thirteen Reasons Why” by Jay Asher or “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs (unless something else grabs me first)

  3. Debra, Emily January on her “Bookshelf of Emily J” blog did a piece on the book, which prompted me to read it. I think it is a great conversation starter on the subject and I admire her for encouraging women to sit at the table, literally and figuratively. I think the criticism it gets is women (and men) who are in jobs they can ill afford to lose, are not the target audience, as they may get fired. With that said, I think there a good takeaways for all women to self-reflect and find their voice. It is an easy read, so give it a shot. Thanks, BTG

  4. Currently reading “Lean In” by Sheryl Sandberg. Just finished “Death of Santini” by Pat Conroy. Thinking about getting “Capital” by Thomas Piketty, but may hold off until Father’s Day. If I wait, I may finish up a book called “The Father of Us All” which is about the history of why wars start. It seems I read halves of books and set them aside. Thanks for asking.

    • I also start quite a few books I don’t finish. Sometimes it’s because they bore me, but other times I think my attention just shifts to something else. (ADD?) What did you think of “Lean In”? I’ve heard mixed reviews on it.

Leave a Reply

